Penalty ends TeamBath’s Trophy campaign

14th December 2008

TeamBath’s FA Trophy campaign came to an end when they went down 2-1 at home to Blue Square Premier side Lewes.
A 76th minute penalty separated the sides. Michael Standing confidently converted from the spot after ref Andy Davies judged Gary Warren had handled Stefan Cox’s cross.
TeamBath had started the first round proper tie the stronger of the sides and Dean Smith’s glancing header turned their early pressure into a 1-0 lead on 12 minutes.
Matt Lock’s deep cross was headed back across the goalmouth by Sami El-Abd and Smith glanced the ball into the top corner.
Mike Perrott could have doubled the lead 10 minutes later, but fired his effort into the side netting after sliding in to meet Takumi Ake’s cross.
Two minutes later TeamBath paid the penalty for not making more of their early pressure when Lewes captain Daniel Cullip levelled the scores against the run of play. He calmly converted an effort 12 yards out from a corner.
Matt Cooper had a good opportunity to put TeamBath back into the lead 10 minutes from the break, but drilled his effort wide after being put in by Shaun Benison.
The decisive moment of the game came on 76 minutes when the ref awarded Lewes a penalty.
TeamBath still had a chance to earn a replay three minutes from time. Marc Canham’s long ball found sub Ben Thomson wide on the left, his cross was hit first time by Shaun Benison, but he saw his effort cannon back off the post.
TeamBath: Darren Chitty, Matt Lock, Greg Lake (Andy Caton, 88) Dean Smith, Gary Warren (capt), Sami El-Abd, Mike Perrott, Marc Canham, Shaun Benison, Matt Cooper (Ben Thomson, 80), Takumi Ake (Josh Llewellyn, 66). Subs (not used): Jake Meredith, Matt Thorne.
TeamBath FC is sponsored by Ted Baker and Kukri.