Success for Britain’s shooters in first ever team contest

4 May 2009
by Sian Davies
The listing was posted by WheelPower - British Wheelchair Sport - News

Britain’s top disability shooters returned from Korea this weekend, where they have been competing in the IPC Shooting Open Championships – Jikji Cup, with a team gold and two individual bronze medals.
A five-strong squad of Deanna Coates, Nathan Milgate, James Bevis, Matt Skelhon and Karen Butler travelled to Korea for the open, which - following the cancellation of this summer’s European Championships - was one of the squad’s main competitions of the year.

This competition was the first time GB had entered a team contest at a major international event, with Paralympians Deanna Coates, Nathan Milgate and Matt Skelhon joining forces to enter the R3 10m air rifle prone mixed team. With a total combined score of 1793 the trio beat hosts Korea to take gold, while Slovakia finished with bronze.

Coates followed up the team gold by taking individual bronze in the R2 10m air rifle standing SH1. She scored 388 in the preliminary round before shooting 102.2 in the final.  Mi Sook Lee from Korea took the gold with 394 and 102.1, while Poland’s Veronika Vadovicova won the silver with 390 and 101.5.
There was another medal for Britain in the R1 10m air rifle standing SH1 with Nathan Milgate scoring 582 and 101.2 to take the bronze. Both Milgate and Matt Skelhon had qualified for the final, but Skelhon had to settle for 5th place with his total score of 681.5. Gold was won by Sung of Korea (691.2) and silver by Jae Sim, also from Korea (683.2).

Meanwhile Karen Butler just missed the medals in the R6 50m rifle prone SH1 mixed, finishing in fourth place ahead of Milgate, who finished 6th. In the R3 10m air rifle prone mixed Milgate again finished 6th, while James Bevis finished 5th in R5 10m air rifle prone SH2 mixed with a score of 598 and 105.2.
Fifteen nations, including Korea, Australia, Poland and Slovakia took part in the event, which took place from April 23 to 30.

A ten-man squad of Milgate, Coates,  Skelhon, Bevis, Mandy Pankhurst, Adam Fontain, Georgina Callingham, Richard Davies, Chris Summerscales and Jean Guild, will now fly to Turkey for the Turkish Cup, which takes place in Bodrum from May 5 to 8.