Beddoes claims Flowerbulb crown

13th December 2009

Emma Beddoes proved victorious during the Squash Hillegom Flowerbulb Open 2009 after a comfortable straight games victory over Annelize Naudé in today’s final.

Both finalists came through tough semi final matches earlier in the day and started the final a little tentative. Midway the first game Beddoes stepped up the pace, something her more experienced opponent was surprisingly unable to cope with. The top seed kept up the pressure throughout the second and third games, forcing many uncharacteristic errors out of the Dutch ace who never threatened to extend the match. Within 25 minutes the match was over and a new Flowerbulb champion was crowned: 11-8, 11-2, 11-6.

The Flowerbulb Open title marks Beddoes’ third tournament win on the Women’s International Squash Players Association World Tour. Remarkably it was only the first time in the 4-year history of the event that the title was not won by a Dutch player. Annelize Naudé (2006), Karen Kronemeyer (2007) and Orla Noom (2008) preceded Beddoes as Flowerbulb champion!