Millennium & David Brown Shield Round-up

4th April 2011
by SB
The listing was posted by Nairn Curling Club



Millennium Trophy

 The Top Four teams in the Sandy Gunn League battled it out for the Millennium Trophy on Monday March 28.

In the semi final: 1st  Dean Clark , played 4th, Jamie Cattell;  whilst 2nd Hamish Clark, played 3rd Matthew Mackay.

 Dean Clark beat Jamie Cattell, although it took a draw to the bottle to settle it. The Mackay rink, still smarting from the defeat which cost them the SGL Title, brushed the Hamish Clark combo aside.

In a fairly one sided final, Matthew Mackay, despite struggling with a knee injury, got revenge over SGL winner Dean Clark , to take the Millennium Trophy.



David Brown Shield

 The final event of the season was the David Brown Shield - the club event where non skips get their turn of skipping.

To try and boost participation it was decided last season to simply reverse the Sandy Gunn teams and have another closing bonspiel style event. It proved a little more problematic  this season due to a high amount of call off’s, and skips had difficulty in raising teams.

The eventual winner was Dan Torok, Ian Fraser, Jim Clark and Stewart Baird.

Thanks to Vice President Hamish Clark for arranging a post-match warm-down at The Clubhouse afterwards.