Britain's Next Generation Swimmers on Road to Rio

9th October 2012

Great Britain’s future Olympic swimming hopefuls will hone their skills at a British Swimming Development Camp at Millfield School in Somerset from the 14th-20th October.
The camp will see 24 talented young swimmers take part in an intensive skills camp, looking at fine tuning their skills and techniques under pressure in the pool.
Mark Perry, Head of Development for British Swimming said: “After consultation with coaches we are going back to basics with this camp putting the main focus on skills. It will be a very demanding week.”
The camp will be the first to pilot part of the curriculum for the nine-stage development pathway which is due to be introduced in April 2013. If successful, the camp will be replicated as swimmers start the Rio 2016 training cycle.
Perry will be assisted by City of Sheffield Head Coach Russ Barber working one-to-one with each athlete on identified areas, as well as five other coaches who will also use the week as part of their CPD (Continued Professional Development.)
“We will be looking at each individual and getting the swimmers to focus on the areas they need to work on under pressure in the pool.”
The camp will be hosted and supported by Millfield School.
The swimmers participating are:

Thomas Allen – British Gas ITC Swansea
Craig Benson - Warrender
Jack Burnell – British Gas ITC Loughborough
Lewis Coleman  - City of Sheffield
James Guy - Millfield
Calum Jarvis – British Gas ITC Bath           
Matthew Johnson (tbc) - City of Sheffield
Joel Knight – Millfield
Craig McNally - Warrender
Ross Murdoch – West Dunbartonshire
Joseph Patching               - Plymouth Leander
Adam Peaty – City of Derby
Russell Smith – British Gas ITC Stockport
Thomas Sunter - City of Sheffield
Eleanor Faulkner – City of Sheffield
Jessica Fullalove – City of Manchester
Georgia Hohmann – Nova Centurion
Amelia Maughan – British Gas ITC Bath
Molly Renshaw – Derventio Excel
Lauren Quigley – City of Manchester
Elena Sheridan – Romford Town
Sophie Smith – British Gas ITC Loughborough
Lucy Spencer – City of Sheffield
Sophie Taylor – City of Leeds