Brits to Send 19-Strong Team to World Short Course

30th October 2012

Olympic silver medallist Michael Jamieson will lead a team of 19 British swimmers as he makes his debut at the FINA World Short Course Swimming Championships in Istanbul in December.
Included in the squad are 16 swimmers from the Olympic team including world silver medallist Hannah Miley and four-time World Short Course medallist Francesca Halsall.
The event, which is being held from 12th -16th of December, will also see the likes of Sophie Allen, who has already medalled at the FINA World Cups this month, and Olympic finalists Robbie Renwick, Jemma Lowe, Andrew Willis and Lizzie Simmonds included in the ranks.
Promising youngsters Matthew Johnson (City of Sheffield) and Georgia Hohmann (Loughborough University) will also be competing at their first international championships on a full senior team. Both made their senior debut at for Great Britain at the US Open which took place in August this year.
Bath ITC’s David McNulty will be the Head Coach for the competition. “Anytime our swimmers are up against the best in the world means it’s an important event.
“Not everyone will be tapered and some swimmers will be in the hard stage of their training cycle so they will have to swim tough but I know our swimmers will give their best on the day.
“We will go there as a strong team and give everything we can to the meet and it will be an exciting start to the new quadrennial cycle for the team.”
The British Gas GBR Swimming team selected to compete at the World Championships are:

  • Craig Benson – Warrender Baths
  • Daniel Fogg – British Gas ITC Loughborough
  • Michael Jamieson – British Gas ITC Bath
  • Matthew Johnson – City of Sheffield
  • Ieuan Lloyd – City of Cardiff
  • Roberto Pavoni – British Gas ITC Loughborough
  • Robbie Renwick – City of Glasgow
  • Chris Walker-Hebborn – British Gas ITC Bath
  • Andrew Willis – British Gas ITC Bath
  • Sophie Allen – British Gas ITC Stockport
  • Jazmin Carlin – British Gas ITC Swansea
  • Georgia Davies – British Gas ITC Swansea
  • Eleanor Faulkner – City of Sheffield
  • Francesca Halsall – British Gas ITC Loughborough
  • Georgia Hohmann – Loughborough University
  • •emma Lowe – British Gas ITC Swansea
  • Hannah Miley – Garioch
  • Elizabeth Simmonds – British Gas ITC Bath
  • Rebecca Turner – City of Sheffield.