Swimmers make final preparations for Short Course Champs

6th December 2012

A team of 19 British swimmers are making their final preparations for the World Short Course Championships which starts on December 12th in Istanbul, Turkey.
Hannah Miley (Garioch), who came away from the recent European Short Course Championships with two gold medals, one silver medal and a new European Record, will be leading the team which also includes Olympic silver medallist Michael Jamieson.
Jamieson will be making his first appearance on the international circuit since setting a new British Record en route to the silver medal in the 200m Breaststroke in London.
And Jamieson admitted, he was looking forward to getting back into the pool after a solid performance at the recent BUCS Short Course Championships.
“This is the first big competition for me and the first major international meet of the new season,” explained Jamieson. “I feel like I’m in good shape and have rested up a bit in preparation.
“I swam better than I expected at a couple of preparation meets so I’m hoping to go out there, post a best time and get onto the podium.”
British Gas Stockport ITC swimmer Sophie Allen will be looking to build on the success she has had during the FINA World Cup Series this autumn.
Allen, who has won five medals, including two gold, will be looking to improve on the personal best times she has set en route at her World Short Course debut.
Two-time European Junior Champion Matthew Johnson (City of Sheffield) will be making his first appearance on a full senior side in Turkey along with Loughborough University’s Georgia Hohmann.
The British Gas GBR Swimming team is:

  • Craig Benson – Warrender Baths
  • Daniel Fogg – British Gas ITC Loughborough
  • Michael Jamieson – British Gas ITC Bath
  • Matthew Johnson – City of Sheffield
  • Ieuan Lloyd – City of Cardiff
  • Roberto Pavoni – British Gas ITC Loughborough
  • Robbie Renwick – City of Glasgow
  • Chris Walker-Hebborn – British Gas ITC Bath
  • Andrew Willis – British Gas ITC Bath
  • Sophie Allen – British Gas ITC Stockport
  • Jazmin Carlin – British Gas ITC Swansea
  • Georgia Davies – British Gas ITC Swansea
  • Eleanor Faulkner – City of Sheffield
  • Francesca Halsall – British Gas ITC Loughborough
  • Georgia Hohmann –Loughborough University
  • Gemma Lowe – British Gas ITC Swansea
  • Hannah Miley – Garioch SC
  • Elizabeth Simmonds – British Gas ITC Bath
  • Rebecca Turner – City of Sheffield