Elite Juniors elected for European Champs

14th March 2013

A team of 24 elite junior swimmers have been selected to compete for the British Gas GBR Swimming team at the European Junior Championships (EJCs) to be held in Poznan, Poland.
Taking place between the 10th and 14th of July, the EJCs has long been the benchmark meet on the elite junior programme at British Swimming.
Mark Perry, Interim Technical Lead for British Swimming, who leads the development programme said: “The European Junior Championships is one of the target meets on the Podium Potential Programme and this year we have adopted a tough selection policy.
“We are taking a smaller, more medal focused group who we believe have the potential to make the team for Rio 2016 and beyond.
“This meet offers some swimmers the first chance to represent their country at a very high standard of competition, giving them valuable experience for the future.”
Amongst those selected for the event is City of Sheffield swimmer Matthew Johnson who won two golds and one silver medal at last year’s event in Antwerp. Joining him is Millfield’s James Guy (Millfield) who took the bronze in the 400m Freestyle last year and relay medallists Harriet Cooper (City of Leicester) and Emma Day (Guildford).
The British Gas GBR Swimming Team is:
Harry Ackland                    Plymouth Leander
Alex Dunk                           Prescot
James Guy                          Millfield
Caleb Hughes                    Hatfield
Matthew Johnson           City of Sheffield
Joel Knight                          Millfield
Max Litchfield                    Doncaster DARTES
Jack Smith                           Plymouth Leander
Mark Szaranek                  Carnegie
Nathan Theodoris            British Gas Swansea ITC
Shauntelle Austin            Blackpool Aquatics
Megan Briggs                     Warrender Baths
Harriet Cooper                  City of Leicester
Kathleen Dawson            Warrington Warriors
Emma Day                           Guildford City
Alice Dearing                      Royal Wolverhampton School
Lucy Hope                           Borders Elite Swim Team (BEST)
Ellena Jones                       Swim Swansea
Amber Keegan                  NOVA Centurion
Katie Latham                      Thanet Swim
Lucy McKenzie                  Cockermouth
Erin Nabney                       Ealing
Rosie Rudin                        NOVA Centurion
Linda Shaw                         City of Leeds