Paralympians selected to compete at World Team Cup

Geraint Richards, the Tennis Foundation’s Head of Disability Player Performance, today announced his players selected to represent Great Britain in the BNP Paribas World Team Cup in Antalya, Turkey from 20 – 26 May.

Great Britain will be competing in the highest tiers across the competition with the squad including eight of the ten players selected to represent ParalympicsGB at London 2012.

The teams will be:

Men’s World Group 1 – captained by Karen Ross
• Gordon Reid
• Marc McCarroll
• David Phillipson

Women’s World Group – captained by Katie O’Brien
• Lucy Shuker
• Jordanne Whiley
• Louise Hunt

Quad Event – captained by Stuart Wilkinson
• Andrew Lapthorne
• Jamie Burdekin
• Antony Cotterill

Junior Event – captained by Ash Smith
• Alfie Hewett
• Lauren Jones
• A third player will be confirmed later in April

Great Britain won three medals at the 2012 BNP Paribas World Team Cup in Seoul, Korea.

Geraint Richards commented, “Last year was a memorable season for British wheelchair tennis and, after winning a silver medal in the quad event and bronze medals in the women’s and junior events at the World Team Cup, our players went on to win two medals at the London 2012 Paralympic Games. 

“We have selected our strongest team again this year and we will use the fantastic efforts of the Aegon GB Davis Cup team this weekend as inspiration to challenge for even more medals in Antalya.”