Halsall Leads British Challenge at European Championships

24th October 2013

World Championship medallist Fran Halsall has been named as part of the British Gas GBR Swimming Team selected for the European Short Course Championships in December.

The championships will continue a busy short course season (25m) for the sprinter as she prepares for the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow next summer.

Halsall (British Gas ITC, Loughborough) will be joined by the likes of Jazz Carlin (British Gas ITC, Swansea), Andrew Willis (British Gas ITC, Bath), Hannah Miley (Garioch, Scotland) and Craig McNally (Warrender, Scotland) as part of an 11-strong team selected to compete in Herning, Denmark at the short course event.

“This is a team which is focused on athletes that we feel can deliver medals either today or in the near future,” explained British Swimming Head Coach Bill Furniss.

“It continues the strategy we have adopted of smaller, more focused teams and this will continue to be a key philosophy going forward.

“Certain swimmers on the team will go to Denmark off the back of competing at the FINA World Cups and they will conclude the short course season in Glasgow at the Duel in the Pool. This is part of a strategy of racing more often as we want to see our leading swimmers to be competing more regularly.

“Racing regularly is something we will continue next year during the long course season. We will be racing at events between January and March, focusing on our trials in April and then competition will pick up again as we use the month of June to really define our race preparation.”

Furniss is looking to analyse each individual performance at the European Championships in great detail to better understand where performance improvements can be made.

“Because we’re competing at a short course event we will closely monitor the skills of the athletes,” said Furniss. “We will look at each individual’s starts, turns and overall tactics to see where we can support and provide future development.”

The LEN European Short Course Championships take place in Herning, Denmark from 12-15 December.

The British Gas GBR Swimming Team comprises:
Craig McNally                                   Warrender
Adam Peaty                                      City of Derby
Chris Walker-Hebborn                    British Gas ITC Bath
Andrew Willis                                   British Gas ITC Bath
Sophie Allen                                      British Gas ITC Bath
Jazmin Carlin                                    British Gas ITC Swansea
Francesca Halsall                             British Gas ITC Loughborough
Jemma Lowe                                    British Gas ITC Swansea
Siobhan-Marie O’Connor               British Gas ITC Bath
Hannah Miley                                   Garioch
Aimee Willmott                                Middlesbrough