British Water Polo team qualifies for European Championships

20th January 2014

The British Gas GBR Women’s Water Polo team has qualified for the LEN European Championship finals having finished second in the Group A qualifying tournament.
The four-day event in Gouda, the Netherlands, took place between 16–19 January and saw five teams battle it out for two places in the finals later this year.
A comprehensive win on day one against Ukraine (3-17) and victories against Israel (3-13) and Portugal (14-8) saw the team finish second behind hosts the Netherlands (13-7).
Captain Rosie Morris said: “We are all really pleased that we’ve qualified again for the European Championship finals and look forward to that challenge in the summer.”
The GBR team join Group B winners Spain and France and pre-qualifiers Italy, Russia, Greece and Hungary for the finals in Budapest in July.
Great Britain will be hoping to finish higher than in the 2012 European Championships when they finished 7th. The draw for the finals will take place in March.
The team head straight to Barcelona to play Spain in a FINA Women’s World League match on Tuesday.
GBR Group A European Championship qualifiers results
Day 1: Ukraine 3-17 GBR (4-2, 6-1, 4-0, 3-0)
Day 3: Israel 3-13 GBR (2-6, 1-7, 0-3, 0-3)
Day 3: Netherlands 13-7 GBR (4-2, 4-2, 3-0, 2-3).
Day 4: GBR 14-8 Portugal (3-1, 4-4, 4-3, 3-0)
The British Gas GBR Women’s Water Polo team:
1. Rosie Morris - captain (b. Birmingham, club Olympic Nice Natation, France
2. Chloe Wilcox (b. Carlisle, club Mataro, Spain)
3. Fiona McCann (b. Chester, club City of Liverpool)
4. Ciara Gibson-Byrne (b. Barcelona, club Mataro, Spain)
5. Aine Hoy (b. Manchester, club Olympic Nice Natation, France)
6. Rachel Drabble (b. Germiston, club La Latina, Spain)
7. Lisa Gibson (b. Chichester, club Mataro, Spain)
8. Hazel Musgrove (b. Watford, club Ethnikos, Greece)
9. Peggy Etiebet (b. Nigeria, club Hungerit Szentes, Hungary)
10. Angie Winstanley-Smith (b. South Shields, club Lille UC Natation, France)
11. Fran Clayton (b. Nottingham, club ZF Eger, Hungary)
12. Ella Chadderton (b. Oldham, club City of Manchester)
13. Jade Smith (b. Oldham, Mataro, Spain/City of Manchester)