Team announced for European Junior Championships

23rd April 2014

A team of 23 elite junior swimmers has been selected to compete for the British Gas GBR Swimming team at the 2014 European Junior Championships in Dordrecht, Netherlands.

The team was selected following the recent British Gas Swimming Championships in Glasgow.

Taking place from 9-13 July, the European Junior Championships is an opportunity for younger athletes to compete on an international stage.

Head of Performance Pathway for Swimming, Tim Jones, said: “We saw some strong junior performances at this year’s British Gas Swimming Championships. The challenge will now be to ensure our swimmers produce even better performances at this benchmark meet. 

“The European Junior Championships is very much a stepping stone on a longer journey and we will continue to work with this emerging talent, developing it towards future World Championships and Olympic Games success.

“For some this will be their first experience of an international meet so it will be a great opportunity to race against other talented swimmers and compare where they are at the end of the season.”

Among those selected is Duncan Scott who won three junior titles at the 2014 British Gas Swimming Championships. The F.I.R.S.T athlete is on the Podium Potential programme and won gold in the 100m and 200m Freestyle and the 200m Individual Medley.

Joining Scott is Brittany Horton who medalled in all three Backstroke races. The City of Birmingham swimmer took gold in the 50m and 100m Backstroke and bronze in the 200m.

British Gas GBR Swimming Team for the 2014 European Junior Championships:

• Charlie Attwood (Taunton Deane)
• Jack Burton (Plymouth Leander)
• Craig Bowman (Carnegie)
• Luke Greenbank (Cockermouth)
• Joseph Hulme (Plymouth Leander)
• Daniel Jervis (Swansea University)
• Miles Munro (Beau Sejour)
• Duncan Scott (F.I.R.S.T)
• Jack Smith (Plymouth Leander)
• Martyn Walton (Hatfield)
• Georgina Boyle (Chelsea and West)
• Emma Cain (Millfield)
• Amelia Clynes (City of Leeds)
• Georgia Coates (City of Leeds)
• Magdalena Cygan (City of Leeds)
• Mari Davies (Swim Gwynedd)
• Hannah Featherstone (Sedgefield)
• Chloe Golding (Ellesmere College)
• Isobel Grant (City of Sheffield)
• Holly Hibbott (Southport)
• Brittany Horton (City of Birmingham)
• Rosie Rudin (NOVA Centurion)
• Abbie Wood (Derventio Excel)