Jamieson takes gold in Manchester

27th June 2014

Michael Jamieson won gold in his main event at the British Gas International Swimming Meet in Manchester.  
In the closest race of the session the top three swimmers in the 200m Breaststroke were separated by just 0.28 seconds. 
Jamieson (British Gas NTC Bath) led from the start and held on to touch in 2:11.89 and retain his 200m Breaststroke title. Adam Peaty (City of Derby) finished 0.11 seconds behind to take silver in 2:12.00 and Ross Murdoch (University of Stirling) took bronze in 2:12.17.  
Jamieson said: “It was a pretty slow time to be honest but I’ve just been trying to go through the motions and think of it as a training session.
“My main job now is to rest up and make sure I’m fully ready for the Commonwealth Games.”
Roberto Pavoni (British Gas NTC Loughborough) produced a strong performance to retain his 400m Individual Medley title. 
The British Champion took over four seconds off his qualifying swim to take gold in a time of 4:21.80. Max Litchfield (City of Sheffield) touched in 4:24.72 to take silver and Chris Suggitt (Swim Swansea) finished third in 4:25.72.
In the 200m Butterfly Jemma Lowe (British Gas NTC Bath) posted a 2:10.89 to win gold ahead of Georgia Barton (City of Manchester Aquatics) in 2:12.49. Plymouth Leander’s Charlotte Atkinson swam a personal best to take bronze in 2:13.37.
Defending champion Chris Walker-Hebborn (British Gas NTC Bath) posted a 54.36 to take gold and retain his 100m Backstroke title. University of Stirling’s Charlie Boldison took silver in 55.62 and Marco Loughran (Guildford City) took bronze in 55.87.
In the first sprint race of the day Amy Smith (British Gas NTC Loughborough) won gold in the women’s 50m Freestyle with a time of 25.30. Ruta Meilutyte (Plymouth Leander) and Sian Harkin (University of Stirling) finished second and third in 25.59 and 25.69 respectively. 
Ben Proud was 0.53 seconds outside his British 50m Butterfly record time as he took his second title of the meet. The Plymouth Leander swimmer touched in 23.63 to win gold ahead of Denmark’s Daniel Steen Andersen (24.32). Antony James (Plymouth Leander) and Sam Horrocks (City of Manchester Aquatics) both posted 24.44 to share bronze.
In the 100m Breaststroke Olympic gold medallist Ruta Meilutyte came from behind to take gold in 1:07.58 ahead of British champion Sophie Taylor (City of  Leeds) in 1:08.97 and Katie Armitage (Hatfield)  in 1:10.22.
James Guy (Millfield School) won the 200m Freestyle in 1:48.59. Robbie Renwick (City of Glasgow) clocked 1:49.42 for silver and Stephen Milne (Perth City) posted 1:49.54 for bronze. 
Guy said: “That was a great time considering I’m in hard training. This meet was about race practice, trying a few different tactics to see if they work and go through processes and plans to see what they’re like and get ready for the Commonwealth Games.”
In the MC 100m Backstroke British S14 record holder Bethany Firth was just outside her PB as she touched in 1:06.16 to win gold with 1025 points. 
Firth said: “I’m quite pleased with that final because I’ve recently broken my toe so it was difficult. But there were a lot of fast girls in that race pushing me to really go fast, which was good. 
“I’ve really been focusing on my Commonwealth times and getting them down as low as possible for when I go and compete.”
Hannah Russell (S12) won silver with a time of 1:11.24 (869 points) and Stephanie Millward (S9) took bronze in 1:13.49 (839 points).
In the MC 100m Backstroke James Crisp (S9) touched in 1:06.21 to win with 811 points. Aaron Moores (S14) took silver with 796 points (1:05.79) and Ollie Hynd (S8) took bronze with 784 points (1:08.66).
In the women’s MC 100m Butterfly Steph Slater (S8) posted a 1:10.00 to win gold with 991 points. Alice Tai (S10) lowered the PB she swam in the heats to take silver in 1:10.34 (751 points) and Amy Marren (S9) swam 1:13.67 for bronze (744 points). 
James Hollis (S10) won gold in the MC 100m Butterfly touching in 1:00.71 to take 784 points. James Clegg (S12) was second in 1:02.16 (765 points) and Kahoru Harazawa (S10) was third in 1:04.10 (666 points). 
Matt Walker (S7) secured the gold medal in the MC 50m Butterfly ahead of Alexander Goodman (Portsmouth Northsea). 
The City of Manchester swimmer touched in 34.31 and took the title with 635 points. Goodman (S7) won silver with 556 points after touching in 35.86. Bronze went to William Holland-leavens (S6) who touched in 38.26 to secure 477 points. 
Paralympic medallist Susie Rodgers (S7) won the gold in the women’s MC 50m Butterfly with a total points score of 749 after reaching for the wall in 37.23. Liz Johnson (S6) took silver with a time of 45.11 and a score of 510.