Diamond Race update ahead of first final in Zurich

26th August 2014

On Thursday 28 August, Zurich will host the first of two finals for the 2014 IAAF Diamond League series as 16 Diamond Race winners will be crowned.
The Diamond Race champions in some events have already been decided, but athletes must compete in the IAAF Diamond League final for their discipline to secure the USD$40,000 bonus and the Diamond Race trophy.
A first-place finish at an IAAF Diamond League meeting is worth four points, with two points going to the second-place finisher and one to the third-place finisher. But at the IAAF Diamond League finals, those points are doubled.
If, at the end of the series, athletes are tied on points, then the Diamond Race goes to the athlete with most victories. If athletes are still tied, then the title will go to whichever athlete performed better at their event’s Diamond Race final.
In Zurich, two athletes – discus thrower Sandra Perkovic and 400m runner LaShawn Merritt – need only to line up for their events to secure their Diamond Race victories.
But the Diamond Race for 14 other disciplines in Zurich is still undecided, so a victory in the Swiss city will take on extra significance.