British triathlon and paratriathlon stars line up in Madrid

19th September 2014

British elite triathletes and paratriathletes are involved in international action in Madrid this weekend at the ETU European Cup and ITU World Paratriathlon events.
Racing takes pace at Casa de Campo park, host to memorable ITU World Triathlon Series wins by Non Stanford, Alistair and Jonathan Brownlee. The tough, hilly course will see British athletes, including paratriathlon world champion, Lauren Steadman, and former Under 23 world champion, Matt Sharp, in pursuit of valuable ranking points to take into next season.
The ITU World Paratriathlon features twenty British competitors, including six medal winners from last month’s world championships in Edmonton. 
World champion Lauren Steadman and former champion Faye McClelland continue their competitive rivalry in the PT4 category. 
Cornwall’s world silver medallist, Melissa Reid, expects a close race with Spain’s world bronze medal winner, Susana Rodriguez, in the PT5 (visually impaired) category, and Joe Townsend competes in the PT1 category having won four gold medals on the athletics track at the Invictus Games last weekend. 
British Paratriathlon Performance Manager, Jonathon Riall, said: “Although this race takes place after the world championships, it’s important for athletes to score international points that will enable them to get starts at major races next year, and put themselves into the right position for Paralympic selection for Rio.” 
He added: “We’ve got a relatively big team and it will be invaluable for our talent athletes to race alongside the more experienced international medal winners at a high calibre event.”
Matt Sharp is the highest ranked British athlete in the ETU European Cup men’s elite race. He’s joined in the standard distance event by twin brothers Tom and David Bishop and four others including former Ironman champion Phil Graves. Natalie Milne is the top ranked British female in a squad of four.
Great Britain Paratriathletes – Sunday 21 September, 08:00 (local time)
PT1: Jane Egan, Lizzie Tench, Mark Conway, Phil Hogg, Joe Townsend 
PT2: Andrew Lewis, Ryan Taylor 
PT3: Sarah Pearson, Russell White
PT4: Lauren Steadman, Faye McClelland, Chris Frost, Adrian Heathfield, David Hill, George Peasgood 
PT5: Melissa Reid, Dave Ellis, Chris Goodwin, Iain Dawson, Haseeb Ahmad (B1)
Elite women – Sunday 21 September, 11:30
Jessica Learmonth, India Lee, Natalie Milne, Seonaid Thompson, 
Elite men – Sunday 21 September, 14:15
Tom Bishop, David Bishop, Phil Graves, Alastair Rogers, Matt Sharp, Alex Thorley, Phil Wolfe