World Champions spearhead British challenge in Europe

30th November 2015

A team featuring five World Champions will fly the flag for Great Britain at this week’s LEN European Short Course Championships in Netanya, Israel.
Adam Peaty, Siobhan-Marie O’Connor, Robbie Renwick, Fran Halsall and Chris Walker-Hebborn all struck gold at this summer’s World Championships in Kazan and will bring their impressive year to an end against the best in Europe.
The event sits in the middle of a hard block of work for the British team of 12 as they lay the foundations on which to build their performances for the 2016 Olympic year. The Europeans enable them to combine this with race preparation and process practice.
For Triple World Champion and World Record holder Adam Peaty the event provides a vital opportunity to work on his race skills.
“I’m really looking forward to my second European Short Course Championships,” said Peaty. “I will be using the racing as a focus point for my dives, turns and underwater work so it will hopefully benefit me in my long course swimming later in the season.”
The team will be lead by Head Coach David McNulty (National Centre, Bath).
“As well as racing the very best that Europe has to offer, the main aim for the team will be to continue with the highly professional team behaviours while developing the outstanding arena skills that have given the British Swimming team some great success over the last few years,” said McNulty. 
“It's our job to ensure we do not to take a step back, we need to continue with these winning ways and to make it the norm for our teams going forward.”
Athletes set to compete at the LEN European Short Course Championships (2-6 Dec) are:
Luke Greenbank - Cockermouth
Roberto Pavoni – National Centre, Loughborough
Adam Peaty – City of Derby
Robbie Renwick – University of Stirling
Liam Tancock – National Centre, Loughborough
Chris Walker-Hebborn - National Centre, Bath
Andrew Willis - National Centre, Bath
Jazz Carlin - National Centre, Bath
Georgia Coates – City of Leeds
Fran Halsall - National Centre, Loughborough
Hannah Miley - Garioch
Siobhan-Marie O’Connor - National Centre, Bath